jump to navigation

Life’s little triumphs: Day 1 – Le Giraffe de Triumph September 26, 2005

Posted by Matt Hurst in Uncategorized.
trackback

By Sweetdagger:
Well once when I was in kindergarten my teacher had us color giraffes and cut them out. I made a purple pony too. I was all excited to play with them, cutting perfectly along the lines, and instantly they befriended each other. For some reason I keep thinking there was a folder. And more animals. And the folder was blue? Well, teacher Lisa let me take mine home. I remember sitting in the front seat of our muted-blue Aerostar van pretending the giraffe was galloping, all breezy and bright-eyed, blonde wisps of hair floating about like dandelion fluff.

Well.
The window was open, and my giraffe slipped out of grasp and flew out the window. I gasped. I cried. I was actually broken-hearted.

My. giraffe. My new friend. Who would my pony play with? Why didn’t I see him bobbing around with the wind behind us?

As soon as we pull up to my house I am all puffy-faced and sniffling, beginning to accept the fact that my beloved paper scribble was forever gone and that nothing could replace him…. My brother opens the sliding door and I look at the back seat all smiley and such, directly behind the passenger’s side…..MY GIRAFFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The window behind me was slightly ajar, and magically my giraffe had flown out my window and miraculously into the window behind me, fluttering down and nestled into the fuzzy gray seat.

(that is my earliest life’s triumph I can recall. Had it been later than kindergarten I think I could’ve written more than a little snippet. Anyhow, there you are).


Thanks again to Jessica for her submission. You can read about more of her triumphs and some of stumbles on her livejournal.
Remember, I need your little triumphs to keep this thing going. I have another one lined up, but unless i hear from more of you, I’m not going to get to share mine. And none of you wants me to be negative again, do you?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

