jump to navigation

Life’s little triumphs: Day 2 – The Geek and The Goddess September 27, 2005

Posted by Matt Hurst in Uncategorized.
trackback

By Easymeat6969:
Sometimes the biggest triumph in life is the ability to relate to a person in your own proverbial backyard. I am not, by nature, a person who “talks” to just anyone. In fact, talking to someone often makes things awkward or worse: “h-h-h-hi, I’m Ben, I like to read FUCK Magazine and draw comics about televisions who eat people…I mean, no.”

Then I was browsing good ol’ MySpace the other day, and came across the most random of random things: the girl who models for my figure drawing class! (proving that sooner or later, you may possibly run into everyone you’ve ever known, on MySpace.) This isn’t any ordinary girl, either.. this is a beautifully proportioned German goddess. So what did i do? Not only did I talk to her, I apparently talked to her in a proper manner (read: not the social equivalent of OFF! spray), and now we’s chums. Yes!

This situation has been re-occurring a bit lately. (I’ve met a small bunch of ineffably cool people.) There are many things to blame for this. Working in retail? Sure! Whoring my ‘zine around town to anyone who’ll listen? definitely! spending time at the Lemp talking to audience and musician alike? certainly! Call it, then, one of life’s little triumphs. The ability to come out of one’s suit-coated shell and perhaps be able to relate to a human or two. Something that if I can do, ANYone can do, and they shall be better off for it.


Thanks again to Ben for his submission. You can read all about the enchanted life, making zines, and other rants of a man who’s been dating his computer the last several months by reading his livejournal.
As of today, I have no new story of a little victory to share for tommorow, much less all the way until saturday. I am afraid that you won’t get to hear my little triumph. That would suck (for you).
You have until noon tommorow (roughly) to submit your story if you haven’t shared one with us yet, or all bets are off.

Comments»

1. lostininerspace - September 27, 2005

I have no triumphs as of yet, today kinda sucks balls. But I really want to hear yours, so I will tell you as soon as something happens.
I will be more dissappointed to miss out on yours then I am about having to read Kant.
-Jess

2. skewgee - September 27, 2005

aw, kant can(t) be fun.
but please remember, it can be an old story too. no really! it doesn’t have to be a big, triumphant, life-affirming moment. just a little victory out of the blue

3. homeless_spork - September 28, 2005

speaking of myspace.com… its kind of scary how many people use that damn site. Yesterday I randomly stumbled across the myspace page for the band that is playing at the house on Saturday here: http://www.myspace.com/thesecondary
Check em out, Matt, and decide if you want to see them on Saturday.

4. eazymeat6969 - September 28, 2005

i shoved my cynicism aside in an attempt to make a life-affirming statement.

apparently it wasn’t life-affirming enough, as i just cut my wrists and am now dead.

5. skewgee - September 28, 2005

thank god for voice recognition technology

6. skewgee - September 28, 2005

thanks sir

7. skewgee - September 29, 2005

yeah, these guys are awful lame. no imagination


Leave a Reply

