jump to navigation

Rainy Day Drivers November 15, 2005

Posted by Matt Hurst in Uncategorized.
trackback

What is it about death that shuts people down? Most of us have experienced the death of somebody close to us, familial or friends. We morn their deaths, and carry their memories. We loved them and always will cheerish our time together. But it changes us for some reason.

Is our mourning not tied to a celebration of their lives we entertain. Just because can no longer live their lives does not necessary suppose that we shouldn’t continue living theirs. For if the meaning of their lives is how they lived it, we should respect that memory by continuing to celebrate lives of our own. Collasping into yourself is simply not an option any longer for me at least; not making memories actively and as much as possible is equilvient to not living myself. I would think that our cheerished late ould not wish death on at least us.
I know I talk about these things alot, but you should take some positive things out of another’s death. It is a necessary part of grieving. eath is part of life, and as such we will continualy experience it. When we cut off ourselves from getting close to others as to prevent that loss again, we are also cutting ourselves short of living (and them as well). The loss is magnified, because you might have unfinished business with that person, preventing further closure.

I bring this up here for a few good reasons. As I’ve talked about before, I write now because my ideas can outlast me, just as my actions do. But I write in part because it gives my father’s death some meaning to me.
I’ve found that the most important part of grieving would be to carry out things involved with that death, and it is a positive thing to draw out of it. For instance, my interest in keeping track of terrorism, and the foreign policy that I influence them, stem from my father’s death at the hands of terrorists. I’ve been following these things for at least a few years before September 11th, 2001, when my independant reading was beginging to become a regular activity of mine. IT helps me put things together, and has become only of greater importance in other’s minds because it has gotten closer to them. Most people remain rather indifferent to understanding the threat terrorism poses and how to prevent it, in part because they feel well informed from their leaders (including the news media). They have a fear of death that can make them act rashly and harmfully without any perspective.
I want to solve some problems, and preventing things like those that happened to your loved ones can be a positive step in the mourning process (which never really ends but becomes easier by living). IT can be harmful when taken in ways that strip people of freedoms that are part of living fully, but it is healthy and helpful among those I have met.

One of the major things I have taken on as of late in my life as a result of my father’s death so many years ago is writing. I have heard that my father really wanted to be a writer of sorts, and he did major in english as an undergraduate student. He accepted his career as layed out by his family for their acceptance, as a business man, but had planned out many intricate nvoels he might persue upon his retirement. Oh did he hate working for the system he understood how to play but was disgusted by.
I incidently enjoy writng as well, and have been afforded the opportunites that few others have, especially those raised in single parent households. I have a lot to say, some of which is motivated by my father’s untimely death. But I also have my own voice within my own life.
I can think of nothing better to carry out his memory than living my life in the way that I choose, as he would have wished for himself. Sometimes I will write about it, but that’s just part of my life I am leading in his legacy. I WILL LIVE IN LIFE, in spite of and because the inevitability of death.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

