jump to navigation

Obligatory list (definitive) December 31, 2005

Posted by Matt Hurst in Uncategorized.
trackback

Well, seeing as I’m a pompous ass, and one who tries pushing his tastes unto others, here’s my first formal forray into the world of top 5 lists.

Top 5 albums of 2005
this was a generous year indeed for the music fan. Armed with iPods we hit the street in anonymous sychopation amoung different rhythems. I found myself persuing hip music of the past this year, especially reliving the music of the mid to late nineties that shape the current scene in a lot of ways. But as far as new releases, There are a few more I’d add to the list. For brevety’s sake, here’s my picks (aka albums i found worth purchasing).
1.) Sufjan Stevens – Come on! Feel the Illinoise
2.) Beck – Guero
3.) LCD Soundsystem – LCD Soundsystem
4.) The White Stripes – Get Behind me Satan
5.) MIA – Arular

Top 10 most played artists
my listening habits on the other hand differed wildly through the year. cumulatively, i have been using this free service called lastFM.com to monitor and track my music listening habits. I’ve been doing this for the better part of a year (2/18/05), and it makes for fabulous suggested listening when i compare with other likeminded listeners. the results will doubtlessly shock you, but I WILL EARWORM YOU.
1.) Beck (by almost 3 times as many as the next nearest artist)
2.) David Bowie
3.) Beastie Boys
4.) Bob Dylan
5.) Nine Inch Nails
6.) Nellie McKay
7.) Sufjan Stevens
8.) The White Stripes
9.) Bjork
10.) Ben Folds Five
(A full and ongoing list is availible here – http://www.last.fm/user/Skewgee/ )

Top 5 movies of 2005
I actually had to watch these movies to make a judgement. and by movies, i mean films of a feature length (sorry animated shorts fans). Oh, and new releases (aka 2005). I had trouble coming up with 5 (in no particular order).
Syriana
Brokeback Mountain
Good Night and Good Luck
Sin City
Dig

That’s about everything i feel comfortable enough to make in an anual list format, or least what i feel qualified enough to write

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

