jump to navigation

Shuffling away May 16, 2006

Posted by Matt Hurst in Uncategorized.
trackback

Directions:
1.) Put your music player on shuffle
2.) Press forward for each question
3.) Use the song title as the answer
4.) Translate the answer to something applicable
5.) NO CHEATING!!! What you get is what you get!

1. How am I feeling today?
Poe – 5 and 1/2 Minute Hallway
translation: “i can’t take this space anymore”

2. Where will I get married?
Mindless Self Indulgence – Bitches
translation: “throughout the projects”

3. What is my best friend’s theme song?
Aphex Twin – Phloam
translation: “my friends are tapdancing robots”

4. What is/was high school like?
Spiritualized – Broken Heart
translation: “synthesized symphonic emo”

5. What is the best thing about me?
Aqualung – You Turn me Round
translation: “i am totally dependant on others”

6. How is today going to be?
Rhett Miller – Things That Disappear
translation: “i will be totally embarassed by my music collection”

7. What is in store for this weekend?
Attila The Stockbroker – Comandante Joe (RIP Joe Strummer)
translation: “i will be irritated by music that can no longer be made by The Clash”

8. What song describes my parents?
Joy Division – Isolation
translation: “they left me behind, and now i am haunted”

9. How is my life going?
Jesse Malin – Indian Summer
translation: “I will always be understood as the guy from that other band, and only rock critics respect me”

10. What song will they play at my funeral?
Kanye West – Jesus Walks
translation: “appearantly my friends either have a terrific sense of humor, or my delusions of granduer are entirely justified”

11. How does the world see me?
Nappy Roots – AwwNaww
translation: “as the materialistic and laid back legacy of sharecropping”

12. What do my friends really think of me?
Rolling Stones – Parachute Woman
translation: “i am a classic blues song, filled to the brim with junk culture”

13. Do people secretly lust after me?
Paquito D’Rivera – “La Bella Cubana”
translation: “appearantly only Cuban immigrants, pending translation”

14. How can I make myself happy?
Beck – Milk & Honey
translation: “a night of dangerous liason with complete strangers (i can smell the VD in the club tonight)”

15. What should I do with my life?
Mars Volta – Miranda the Ghost that just isn’t holy anymore (one of the parts)
translation: “form over the top progress rock band, with striking lyrical similarity to Tom Waits. or die I guess.”

16. Will I ever have children?
Daft Punk – Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger
translation: “only if i work it, do it, and make it”

17. What is some good advice?
Dizzee Rascal – Live O
translation: “don’t bother returning that phone call. it’s only more trouble. and you will have trouble understanding anything they are saying”

18. What do I think my current theme song is?
Beastie Boys – So What’cha Want
translation: “appearantly i continue to have trouble with empathy. you can’t front all that.

19. What does everyone else think my current theme song is?
Beck – interview (6-25-05)
translation: “on any other day, they’d probably be right. I am obsessed with Beck.”

20. What type of men/women do you like?
The Donnas – Drive My Car (Beatles cover)
translation: “appearantly those easily impressed by rock stars, who let you know they put out in simple metaphors”

21. Will you get married?
Beethoven’s Second Symphony
translation: “the largest symphony ever written at the time. an unstoppable burst of energy, suggesting i cannot be content with a single parnter”

22. What should I do with my love life?
Rufus Wainwright – Evil Angel
translation: “settle down these monuments…faced with hatreds…settle down the monuments…evil angel…left with me these memories”

23. Where will you live?
Goo Aka Le Gooster – The OG
translation: “some kind of digital jazz paradise, a place of bluntness and mystery intrigue”

24. What will your dying words be?
Ben Folds Five – A: Will you be touring to support this record
translation: “i will die a rock journalist, covering a band that will break up after my funeral”

25. How’s your day going so far?
DJ Spooky vs the Freight Elevator Quartet – Chromatic Aberration
translation: “typically”

26. How’s your love life?
Aphex Twin – Z Twig
translation: “like an beautiful melodic song, but digitally based”


Most Rediculous Inventory Yet. I only humoured it becaused It was based on the same shuffle I use every day. It became easier with the modification I made.

I modified the rules with rule #4, in order to make this somehow relevant.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

